Home > Uncategorized > TheLaw.com’s “Free Law Guide & Law Dictionary” App for iPhones and Android Phones

TheLaw.com’s “Free Law Guide & Law Dictionary” App for iPhones and Android Phones

February 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I initially considered writing this blog post on several iPad apps (Jury Duty, Jury Tracker & iJuror) that assist lawyers during voir dire in choosing and monitoring jurors but realized my efforts wouldn’t be particularly informative without (1) owning an iPad, (2) paying for these apps (ranging from $9.99 to $39.99 each), and (3) utilizing these apps during actual voir dires. Besides, Professor Thaddeus Hoffmeister has already done the topic justice (with many helpful links to articles reviewing these apps and links for purchasing the apps themselves), and so I simply link you to his blog: http://juries.typepad.com/juries/2011/01/review-of-new-ipad-application-jury-duty.html

Next, I ran a Google search for “free law apps,” which turned up several websites describing Fastcase’s free legal research app for the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch, none of which I own. I then turned to a free law guide and law dictionary app offered by TheLaw.com (http://www.thelaw.com/the-law-guide-free-iphone-app-android-app/), which is available to download for both iPhones and Android phones. Finally – success (I own a Motorola Droid phone).

I eagerly looked for a link on TheLaw.com’s website to download the app for my Android phone, but alas, surprisingly could not find one. (A link to download the app on the iPhone, on the other hand, was easily found – http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=382017848&mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D6). Then, I realized that it may make more sense to search for “law guide dictionary” via my phone’s “Market” icon, which did indeed locate the app. Unfortunately, only version 1.0 was available for download on my Android phone (whereas version 2.0 is already available for the iPhone). Version 1.0 appears to have been quite problematic for some users. For example, users on AppBrain.com (http://www.appbrain.com/app/the-law-guide-dictionary/com.quoord.lawGuide) made such comments as “Search function does not work properly. That is definitely a key element of such a large list. Uninstalled.. DroidX” and “Was missing some basic legal terms. I am in lawschool and wanted legal terminology access from my phone.” While I have not encountered any problems with the search function so far, I do agree that the app is missing some desirable legal definitions. Although my searches for grand jury, ad hoc, ex parte, lessor, and lessee all generated good definitions, my search for a fortiori and arguendo did not return any results. Of course, the addition of new definitions will take time, and the website states that over 2000 new definitions have been added in version 2.0. Also note that you can access the U.S. Constitution and its amendments in the dictionary.

In addition, the app also has a “Resources” tab which apparently links you to TheLaw.com’s website for information on various practice areas, such as “Bankruptcy & Debt” and “Malpractice Law.” For additional features of this app and what to expect in version 2.0, please visit http://www.thelaw.com/the-law-guide-free-iphone-app-android-app/

Overall, I am impressed and appreciative of a free law dictionary and law guide available on my cell phone. It may definitely come in handy the next time I am away from a computer but need to look up something quickly.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 6, 2013 at 4:13 am

    This has introduced in the demand for distinctive site
    administration and coordinating capabilities.

  2. June 17, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn
    lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  3. June 19, 2013 at 3:21 am

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share
    this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  4. June 24, 2013 at 10:29 am

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice day!

  5. June 25, 2013 at 8:46 am

    I’ve read a few just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you place to make the sort of fantastic informative site.

  6. June 28, 2013 at 3:42 am

    Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

  7. August 2, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible
    paragraph.

  8. September 13, 2013 at 3:50 am

    I like the valuable information you provide to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here frequently.

    I am rather sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper here!

    Best of luck for the following!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

